New Spring

CAM5056 2016-10-14

Track List

Amsterdam Avenue - 7:34
New Spring - 7:04
Out of the World - 9:29
Permutation - 9:13
Loveward - 8:12
I Hear a Rhapsody - 10:00
The Waver - 10:41


Enrico Pieranunzi - piano
Donny McCaslin - tenor saxophone
Scott Colley - bass
Clarence Penn - drums

Enrico Pieranunzi’s second live album at the Village Vanguard was recorded in the spring of 2015; the 80th year in the life of a club immune to ageing and that seems to live both in the present and in some endless, timeless moment. For “New Spring”, Pieranunzi put together a quartet of some of the most prestigious musicians on the current New York scene: Scott Colley, Clarence Penn and Donny McCaslin.  The material performed consists exclusively of original pieces signed by Pieranunzi and arranged for the occasion. Two of these –Amsterdam Avenue and New Spring – are new entries, never previously been recorded by anyone.