SSC1245 2011-06-14

Track List

All The Things You Are - 2:14
Implacable - 3:04
Moose The Mooche - 4:02
Burrito - 3:34
Human Feel - 4:55
Anita - 3:47
Blues For Alice - 6:58
Manhà de Carnaval - 5:14
Airport Fugue - 5:16
Manhà de Carnaval (Orfeo Negro) - 5:24
Yellow Roses - 5:51
Impresion de Bienestan - 4:36
Amtrack / All The Things You Saw - 2:25


Aaron Goldberg - piano
Guillermo Klein - Fender Rhodes
Matt Penman - acoustic bass
Eric Harland - drums
Miguel Zenon - alto saxophone
Chris Cheek - tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone

The intent of collaboration is to blend the strengths of those involved into something unique. Pianist Aaron Goldberg and composer/pianist Guillermo Klein are two musicians at the top of their craft and any collaboration between them proves to be special. The duo’s new Sunnyside release, Bienestan, documents their recent, groundbreaking alliance. Known for his unique and intricate compositional style, Klein provides new tunes and arrangements of well-known tunes from the jazz canon for an extremely talented group of jazz musicians led by Goldberg. The other notable musicians featured are saxophonists Miguel Zenon and Chris Cheek, bassist Matt Penman and drummer Eric Harland.


Nate Chinen reviews Bienestan for NY Times!

Nate Chinen, The New York Times - June 2011 read the full article

Nice review in the July/August issue of JazzTimes!

Jeff Tamarkin, JazzTimes - July 2011 read the full article

Nice review of "Bienestan" in Jazz News (France).

Vincent Bessieres, Jazz News - October 2011 read the full article

Four star review in the Oct. 2011 issue of Jazz Magazine (France)!

Martin Guerpin, Jazz Magazine - October 2011 read the full article