Sotho Blue

SSC1276 2011-04-05

Track List

Calypso Minor - 6:24
Sotho Blue - 5:27
Abide - 2:52
Nisa - 6:32
The Mountain - 2:54
The Wedding - 3:47
Glass Enclosure - 7:00
Star Dance - 5:09
Joan Capetown Flower (Emerald Bay) - 9:22


Abdullah Ibrahim - piano
Belden Bullock - acoustic bass
George Gray - drums
Cleave Guyton - alto saxophone, flute
Keith Loftis - tenor saxophone
Andrae Murchison - trombone
Jason Marshall - baritone saxophone

For nearly three decades, legendary South African pianist Abdullah Ibrahim has written for and performed with Ekaya. This medium sized jazz ensemble has the flexibility of a small group but can flesh out Ibrahim’s compositions like one much larger. The group’s new recording Sotho Blue (Sunnyside/Intuition) showcases a wonderful new generation of Ekaya along with the lovely writing and arranging of Ibrahim. Along with a number of new compositions, Ibrahim provides new arrangements of his now classic themes, “The Mountain” and “The Wedding.”


Nice review in the May 2011 issue of JazzTimes.

Michael J. West, JazzTimes - May 2011 read the full article

Nice review from Jazziz Summer 2011 Issue.

Ross Boissoneau, JAZZIZ - August 2011 read the full article