Ghosts of the Sun

SSC1244 2011-11-22

Track List

Ms. Polley - 8:25
La Fuerza - 4:08
Anti Heroes - 8:41
Ghosts of The Sun - 5:46
William (Drums) - 2:02
Little One - 3:17
William III - 5:05
Lost Song - 6:51
Roses II - 3:40


Bill McHenry - tenor saxophone
Ben Monder - guitar
Reid Anderson - acoustic bass
Paul Motian - drums

Individuality and an uncompromising vision set most groundbreaking musicians apart from the pack. Saxophonist/composer Bill McHenry has been developing his own unique brand of forward thinking jazz for over a decade. His sound and compositional identity stand apart from his peers. His new CD Ghosts of the Sun (Sunnyside, Nov. 22, 2011) provides ample evidence of his uncanny ability to reach listeners with his lush sound and unpredictable nature as composer and improviser. McHenry is accompanied by a fantastic ensemble of topflight musicians, including guitarist Ben Monder, bassist Reid Anderson and legendary drummer Paul Motian.


Nice review in tribute to Paul Motian.

Nate Chinen, The New York Times - December 2011 read the full article

Nice review in JazzTimes!

John Corbett, DOWNBEAT - February 2012 read the full article

Nice review in DownBeat!

Steve Greenlee, JazzTimes - January 2012 read the full article