SSC1280 2011-05-17

Track List

Victory! - 4:11
The Pilot's Compass - 5:04
The Thirsty Ear - 2:03
Sura Hinda - 4:21
The Learned Tongue - 2:12
Philippe Petit - 2:58
Motif - 2:25
Fatima - 2:56
Mr. Steepy - 3:29
Stairway To The Stars - 2:26
The Hungry Eye - 1:44
Recapitulation (The Pilot's Compass) - 3:03


JD Allen - tenor saxophone
Gregg August - acoustic bass
Rudy Royston - drums

Saxophonist JD Allen has been blowing away the standard jazz conventions over the last few years with a slew of tremendous recordings on Sunnyside Records and his no hold barred live performances. His latest recording, Victory!, finds the talented performer/composer continuing his quest to shake up the jazz world. He is marches on with the aid of his fantastic Trio featuring bassist Gregg August and drummer Rudy Royston. Known for their direct and engaging performances, the Trio burns through a new set of tunes with gusto, which leaves the listener yearning for more. An insightful documentary about the saxophonist is included on the CD.


Four star review in June 2011 issue of DownBeat!

John Ephland, DOWNBEAT - June 2011 read the full article

Nice interview with Will Friedwald of the Wall Street Journal!

Will Friedwald, THE WALL STREET JOURNAL - May 2011 read the full article

Troy Collins reviews "Victory!" on!

Troy Collins, PointofDeparture - June 2011 read the full article

Very nice article in the October issue of Jazz News (France).

Thierry P�r�marti, Jazz News - October 2011 read the full article

Jazz News's fantastic review of "Victory!".

Romain Grosman, Jazz News - October 2011 read the full article

In the JazzTimes Top 10 of 2011!

John Murph, JazzTimes - January 2012 read the full article