CAM5058 2017-06-30

Track List

1. Dolomiti Dance
2. Duende
3. Walkin\' The Walk
4. Not Forgotten
5. Hop, Skip And A Thump
6. Figurine
7. The Glide
8. Aeolian Tale
9. Lantern
10. The Water Is Wide


Paul McCandless - oboe, English horn, soprano saxophone, bass clarinet
Ralph Towner - classical guitar, piano, synthesizer
Paolino Dalla Porta - double bass
Mark Walker - drums, hand percussion, drum synthesizer

Passionate, airy, poetic, refined, gentle, evocative: this is Lantern, the new valuable gift Oregon and CAM JAZZ are releasing to all those, ever-growing in number, who are keen on their music, and all the lovers of the finest jazz.
This CD features ten original tracks by a quartet that is a wonder of unity, coherence and also expressive freedom:
Lantern blends different gems into a new one, a precious plot of moods that take on fantasy and avant-garde nuances (Lantern) or are conventional and playful like lovely dances (Dolomiti Dance), swinging and brisk (Walk The Walk, The Glide), sweetly Latin (Not Forgotten) or, at times, almost poignant (Figurine). Even a disarmingly simple track (The Water Is Wide) turns into a small gem of jazz thanks to the sophisticated solos by Paolino Dalla
Porta on double bass and that talented artist, Ralph Towner, on piano (and guitar, of course). Paul McCandless on
horns is able to tell stories, conjure up images, arouse responses by means of amazing phrases. Mark Walker on drums succeeds in building up but also de-structuring moods when more dream-like frescoes are painted.
Lantern is Oregon’s thirtieth album, their fifth released on CAM JAZZ, their first with Paolino Dalla Porta on double
bass: a confirmation of all the band’s unique, thriving, outstanding creativity, a perpetual, fresh source of music that, once again, proves enchanting.

Under the supervision of music producer Ermanno Basso, Lantern was recorded and mixed by Johannes Wohlleben at Bauer Studios in Ludwigsburg, Germany in November 2016, and mastered by Danilo Rossi.