SSC1312 2012-05-08

Track List

Dozens - 6:22
Rain - 11:46
Wheel - 10:05
Bass Solo 5:00 - 5:00
Figurations - 10:24
Mandala - 10:05
Loom - 5:50
Corazón - 6:48


Miles Okazaki - guitar
Miguel Zenon - alto saxophone
Thomas Morgan - acoustic bass
Dan Weiss - drums

The music of guitarist/composer Miles Okazaki is highly conceptual and stylized. It is also extremely engaging, absorbing listeners as the compositions send the performers through an obstacle course of rhythmic traps and harmonic hurdles. Okazaki showcases his proficiency as a composer, improviser and bandleader on his second Sunnyside release, Figurations (May 8, 2012). The recording features an amazing ensemble of adventurous musicians including saxophonist Miguel Zenon, bassist Thomas Morgan and drummer Dan Weiss.