SSC1300 2012-03-27

Track List

Grass Valley And Beyond - 11:18
A Magnificent Death - 15:01
All The Previous Pages Are Gone - 8:24
The Beauty Of Failure - 6:24
Whipping Post - 8:27
O Sacrum Convivium - 6:19
Search - 2:18


Joel Harrison - guitar
Donny McCaslin - tenor saxophone
Gary Versace - piano, Hammond B-3
Christian Howes - violin
Dana Leong - cello
Stephan Crump - acoustic bass
Clarence Penn - drums

Challenges are met in many different circumstances throughout life. There are challenges that we choose and those that we must face. Guitarist/composer Joel Harrison examines both on his new CD Search (Sunnyside, Mar. 27, 2012). On this project, Harrison chose to broaden his compositional scope to include a more classical influence, most notably by scoring strings into his arrangements. The all-star ensemble performs a moving program of original compositions along with a couple of remarkable arrangements of Olivier Messaien and The Allman Brothers Band