SSC1281 2011-05-17

Track List

Soon It’s Gonna Rain - 6:22
Let’s Call This - 5:48
Reflection - 6:14
Boscarob - 5:55
Flight - 6:33
Song Along The Way - 8:04
Fez - 9:01
Nature Boy - 4:28
Kevin’s Birthday Blues - 9:09
Flight (Reprise) - 0:52


Adam Kolker - tenor saxophone, alto flute, bass clarinet, flute, clarinet
John Hebert - acoustic bass
Billy Mintz - drums
John Abercrombie - guitar
Russ Lossing - piano
Judi Silvano - vocals
Kay Matsukawa - vocals

"There is a lovely balance to the gifted saxophonist Adam Kolker's projects. He is able to put together ensembles and music that sound both natural and intriguing, simultaneously. Kolker’s new Sunnyside release Reflections is a recording of fantastic performance and aesthetic choice. The leader presents a stellar lineup of musicians in his ensemble; including bassist John Hébert, drummer Billy Mintz, guitarist John Abercrombie, pianist Russ Lossing, and vocalists Judi Silvano and Kay Matsukawa. Kolker balances his own performance between saxophone, flute, and clarinets and accommodates original compositions written by the members of the group along with well-known standards.


Nice review in the July/August 2011 issue of JazzTimes!

Thomas Conrad, JazzTimes - July 2011 read the full article