SSC1593 2020-09-25

Track List

The Time of the Barracudas (General Assembly) - 6:58
Flips - 4:34
Darn That Dream - 6:25
Lost - 5:17
While My Lady Sleeps - 6:09
Hidden Treasure - 5:01
Dance Cadaverous - 7:18


Adam Kolker - tenor & soprano saxophone
Bruce Barth - piano
Ugonna Okegwo - bass
Billy Hart - drums

The title of saxophonist/composer Adam Kolker’s new recording, Lost, comes from a composition by the legendary Wayne Shorter, an obvious master of thoughtful intention and extemporaneous expression. Kolker has sought to find a similar esthetic in his own work and has achieved that on his new recording that finds him in the company of an ensemble of friends, making fantastic, explorative music without ego. // Kolker’s initial concept for this recording was for it to be a collection of Shorter’s pieces. But as time went by, Kolker realized that everything that he writes or plays utilizes Shorter’s influence as inspiration; Shorter was one of the main innovators of the modal harmonic revolution, which brought on moods and tensions being generated by the use of certain modes. This realization freed the recording of conceptual restrictions and allowed for a broader array of expression from the exceptional ensemble that Kolker put together. // The quartet that was assembled includes longtime collaborators and friends, all equal in making this remarkably communicative music. Pianist Bruce Barth has been a sounding board both on and off the concert stage, his ease and wit fitting easily alongside Kolker. Bassist Ugonna Okegwo remains one of the steadiest timekeepers and most powerful accompanists. Drummer Billy Hart is remarkable on every level, bringing energy and an air of professionalism to everything he does.