Snuck In

SSC1256 2010-06-22

Track List

I Have a Dream - 13:32
Black Comedy - 9:10
Number 4 - 19:26
Erato - 9:01
Snuck In - 10:11


David Weiss - trumpet
JD Allen - tenor saxophone
Nir Felder - guitar
Matt Clohesy - bass- acoustic
Jamire Williams - drums

The late 1960’s were a turbulent but exciting time for jazz. The music seemed to simultaneously get more complex and simpler at the same time as a variety of influences infused the music. Some were experimenting with soul, rock and exotic rhythms from the India and the Far East. Others were carrying on the innovations of the second great Miles Davis quintet, using the group’s evershifting rhythms and harmonic complexities as a springboard to new compositional ideas. Some somehow combined both to create some new, exciting music.
The Point of Departure Quintet is re-examining some of the most innovative music of the period, some of it neglected, some, perhaps, never quite as developed as it could have been as things seemed to move at a pace during that period that left some music from being fully realized as they quickly moved on to the next new thing. Among the composers being re-examined and re-imagined are Andrew Hill, Tony Williams and, Herbie Hancock.


Very nice review by John Ephland in the September 2010 issue of DownBeat.

John Ephland, DOWNBEAT - September 2010 read the full article

Nice review by Forrest Dylan Bryant in JazzTimes.

Forrest Dylan Bryant, JazzTimes - October 2010 read the full article