SSC1576 2020-04-10

Track List

Passion Dance - 5:03
Resolution - 6:58
Winter Palace - 4:20
Vertical on Opening Night - 3:39
Drive By - The Fall - 7:23
Anything about Anything - 4:17
Dancing on The Savannah - 4:20
The Call - 5:08
Geewa - 3:57
Sad to Say - 6:48


Andy Milne - piano
John Hébert - bass
Clarence Penn - drums

My vision for UNISON has evolved since our first performance in 2017. I’ve endeavored to go deeper into honoring my influences and collectively, we’ve been refining our musical interactions, although if I say so, I felt like we started off in a pretty magical place. Some of the music presented here was composed or arranged specifically for this trio, and some found a new home here. Originally, I imagined UNISON might perform mainly jazz standards, exploring the influences that formed my foundation and entrance into jazz (Oscar Peterson, Bill Evans, Keith Jarrett, Ahmad Jamal.) Like the unexpected joys of an improvisational journey, our collective conversation guided our path towards the intersection of our combined sensibilities – joy, risk & trust. For now, here is where we live.