Dancer in Nowhere

SSC1546 2019-02-08

Track List

Today, Not Today - 8:04
The Cyclic Number - 8:03
RUN - 7:07
Somnambulant - 9:45
Il Paradiso del Blues - 8:57
Magyar Dance - 8:07
Olympic Fanfare and Theme - 6:09
Dancer in Nowhere - 8:39


Miho Hazama - conductor
Steve Wilson - sax, flute
Ryoji Ihara - sax, clarinet, flute
Jason Rigby - sax, clarinet
Andrew Gutauskas - sax, clarinet
Jonathan Powell - trumpet, fluegelhorn
Adam Unsworth - french horn
Tomoko Akaboshi - violin
Sita Chay - violin
Atsuki Yoshida - viola
Meaghan Burke - cello
James Shipp - vibraphone, guar, shekere
Billy Test - piano
Sam Anning - bass
Jake Goldbas - drums
Kavita Shah - voice

Lionel Loueke - guitar on track 4
Nate Wood - drums on track 8

Now, quickly on the heels of The Monk: Live at Bimhuis, Hazama's Thelonious Monk-themed collaboration with the Metropole Orkest Big Band, m_unit brings another fresh slate of original works to life, with a stellar core lineup and guests on the order of guitarist Lionel Loueke and drummer Nate Wood (Kneebody). The album was produced by former m_unit alto saxophonist Cam Collins (now thriving in a new role after throat problems sidelined him as a player).