Tiddy Boom

SSC1396 2014-10-28

Track List

Skinny Dip - 4:59
Tiddy Boom - 5:33
Hawk's Last Rumba - 6:19
Boogaloop - 3:36
Coastline - 3:33
Letters in Disguise - 9:29
A Good Day for Pres - 5:50
The Ambassadors - 7:44


Michael Blake - tenor saxophone
Frank Kimbrough - piano
Ben Allison - bass
Rudy Royston - drums

The New York City based saxophonist Michael Blake has built a reputation for himself by producing albums that "make the familiar sound fresh" (Jim Macnie, Downbeat). That statement couldn't apply better than to Blake's new release Tiddy Boom (Sunnyside Records, SSC1396): his nod to the magnificent tenor saxophone innovators Coleman Hawkins and Lester Young. Recorded in January 2014 and set for release on Sunnyside Records (October 28th, 2014), the session sounds like a classic recording date from the 1950's or ‘60's.Tiddy Boom reunites Blake with two of his former Jazz Composers Collective colleagues, bassist Ben Allison and pianist Frank Kimbrough, who, along Rudy Royston (drums), provide effortless support for Blake’s tenor sax to flow in any direction he chooses.