March Sublime

SSC1367 2013-07-30

Track List

Kopi Luwak - 06:17
Hyper Ballad - 08:17
Wilwood Intro - 03:49
Wilwood - 08:15
So It Seems - 09:03
March Sublime - 08:08
I Get Along Without You Very Well - 07:21
The Compass - 09:06


Alan Ferber - trombone
John O Gallagher - saxophone
Rob Wilkerson - alto saxophone
John Ellis - tenor saxophone, bass clarinet
Jason Rigby - tenor saxophone, flute
Chris Cheek - baritone saxophone
Tim Albright - trombone
Ryan Keberle - trombone
Josh Roseman - trombone
Jennifer Wharton - bass - trombone
Taylor Haskins - trumpet
Scott Wendholt - trumpet
David Smith - trumpet
Alex Norris - trumpet
Clay Jenkins - trumpet
Anthony Wilson - guitar
David Cook - piano, keyboards
Matt Pavlova - bass
Mark Ferber - drums

Contemporary big band music is music made primarily for the sheer enjoyment of it. There will likely be little remuneration and it will take a lot of work and time. To make a successful big band there has to be a sense of community and enthusiasm for the music. Trombonist/composer Alan Ferber has created a band of friends who play his daring music with an unmatched energy and grace. This dynamism and rapport is in full display on Alan Ferber Big Band’s new recording, March Sublime.


2014 Grammy Nominated for Best Large Jazz Ensemble Album