SSC1218 2009-08-11

Track List

M - 9:30
Fat Cat - 9:14
Declaration - 7:43
Uppercut - 6:59
Rock Me - 7:20
Jeanina - 8:20
2nd Hour - 6:41
Late Night Gospel - 7:57


Donny McCaslin - tenor saxophone, alto flute
Edward Simon - piano, organ
Ben Monder - guitar
Scott Colley - acoustic bass
Antonio Sanchez - drums
Pernell Saturnino - percussion
Alex Sipiagin - trumpet, flugelhorn
Chris Komer - french horn
Marshall Gilkes - trombone
Marcus Rojas - tuba, trombone
Tatum Greenblatt - trumpet

The music world is a competitive place with many musicians vying for attention, gigs and music sales. It is extremely important for an instrumentalist to have talent and drive to succeed. Saxophonist Donny McCaslin certainly cuts to the chase on his new recording Declaration as he assuredly takes his place at the upper echelon of saxophonists and composers in jazz. On the front line of the contemporary jazz scene for over a decade, McCaslin has proven his worth as a creative player with astonishing technical facility and a writer with wit and ambition. Declaration presents a collection of new songs all written by McCaslin and a band made up of his highly regarded peers. The themes are varied as songs travel from expressive modern jazz and Latin tinged burners to highly orchestrated chamber pieces featuring a brass quartet. Donny McCaslin truly gives his all on Declaration, a record that will make listeners really take notice.


Good review in the December 2009 issue of DownBeat.

Paul de Barros, DOWNBEAT - December 2009 read the full article

Nice review in the November 2009 issue of JazzTimes.

Mike Shanley, JazzTimes - November 2009 read the full article