SSC1193 2008-05-20

Track List

Solace - 07:17
Wheeler of Fortune (for Kenny Wheeler) - 09:38
Far Side - 06:36
Ives Suite Part 1: Time Traveler - 09:49
Ives Suite Part 2: Time Traveler - 09:14
Ives Suite Part 3: Questions Unanswered - 06:40
Ives Suite Part 4: Answers Unquestioned - 04:26
In Passing - 06:20
Pine Creek - 06:31
Dave's Idea - 07:21
Tag (iTunes extra track) - 05:30


Jamie Baum - flute
Ralph Alessi - trumpet, flugelhorn
Shane Endsley - trumpet, flugelhorn
Doug Yates - alto saxophone, bass clarinet
Vincent Chancey - french horn
George Colligan - piano
Jeff Hirshfield - drums
Johannes Weidenmeuller - acoustic bass

The Jamie Baum Septet performs original jazz compositions and arrangements by Jamie Baum and includes the leader who plays flute and alto flute, Ralph Alessi shares the chair with Shane Endsley on trumpet and flugelhorn, Doug Yates on alto sax and bass clarinet, Vincent Chancey on French horn, George Colligan on piano, Jeff Hirshfield on drums and Johannes Weidenmeuller on bass.
Solace, includes Baum’s commissioned work by the 2003 New Works: Creation and Presentation Award, (a component of the Doris Duke/ Chamber Music America Jazz Ensembles Project) entitled The Ives Suite. This work was influenced by Charles Ives’ 4th Symphony and another of his well known works The Unanswered Question.


Solace is a no-frills, 74-minute-long statement by flutist, composer and arranger Jamoe Baum. Scott Albin, JazzTimes - August 2008 read the full article

Congratulations to Jamie Baum for her album "Solace" that Ken Dryden (Coda, All About Jazz�New York) selected in their top 10 of 2008 for the Village Voice critics poll.

John Ephland's positive review of Solace in the September 2008 DownBeat.

John Ephland, DOWNBEAT - September 2008 read the full article

Great review for Solace in the French jazz magazine Jazzman.

Stephane Carini, Jazzman (France) - November 2008 read the full article