Critical Mass

SSC3058 2006-08-29

Track List

The Eyes Have It - 7:00
Easy Did It - 11:16
Vicissitudes - 9:56
The Leak - 5:42
Secret Garden - 8:42
Lucky Seven - 8:35
Full Circle - 12:11
Amator Silenti - 9:17
Dream Of The Elders - Itunes Exclusive - 8:46


Dave holland- bass
Chris Potter - saxes
Steve Nelson - vibes
Robin Eubanks - trombone
Nate Smith - drums

Following up on his 2005 Grammy win for Overtime, Dave Holland returns with all of the original members as well as new member Nate Smith (drums). The album includes 4 new Holland compositions as well as one from each of the band members.
Critical Mass sounds like an album made by a group of worldclass musicians that have performed together for nearly a decade. Great tunes and interplay that borders on musical telepathy.


...Once again manages to pair combustion with containment...
Nat Chinen, New York Times, Setpember 2006 read the full article

Dave Holland's Critical Mass selected by DownBeat critics for the 2006 "Hot Box" Downbeat, October 2006 read the full article

...a sterling fivesome...for an all original set best described as avant-cool bebop.
read the full article

Is there a better, more acutely balanced, technically accomplished, musically adventurous quintet in mainstream jazz than Holland's? Of course not...
Howard Reich, The Chicago Tribune, December 2006
read the full article

Once a certified member of the avant garde and pro-fusion, Dave Holland is now mainstream. Or maybe it's that the mainstream has moved closer to him...
Jon Garelick, The Boston Phoenix, October 2006
read the full article

Critical Mass will be on everyone's list of 2006 Bests
Steve Greenlee, JazzTimes, November 2006
read the full article