House of Mirrors

SSC1597 2020-11-27

Track List

House of Mirrors - 3:02
Beauty Is a Wound - 4:15
Virgin Soil - 4:47
Deine Hande - 2:01
Dark Night of The Soul - 4:58
Manchmal - 3:04
Lullaby For N. - 3:57
Sugar - 5:54
Duke Ellington's Sound of Love - 4:53


Kristiana Roemer - vocals
Addison Frei - piano
Alex Claffy - bass
Adam Arruda - drums
Gilad Hekselman - guitar
Ben Monder - guitar
Dayna Stephens - saxophone
Rogerio Boccato - percussion

Born to an American mother and a German father, Roemer grew up in a bi-lingual household in Frankfurt, Germany. She began piano lessons at six and then began singing in church and with a traveling choir; her first efforts at songwriting took place by the age of nine. Roemer was taking classical voice lessons as a teenager when she met a professional pianist who invited her to sing popular tunes and standards with him at a local lounge, and soon they were performing together regularly. // Choosing to continue her music education, Roemer received a scholarship to attend Concordia College in Minnesota for a year before she returned to Germany. Roemer enrolled for her bachelor of science at Frankfurt University but soon impulse led her to move to Paris, where she spent three years performing regularly at cabarets and clubs and hosting a jam session, along with studying vocal jazz at the Paris Conservatory. // On a summer trip to New York, she fell in love with the City. Roemer moved to New York soon thereafter and dove directly into the jazz scene there, performing regularly at Rockwood Music Hall, Jazz at Kitano Hotel and Cornelia St. Cafe, and completing her Master of Music in jazz studies at Queens College. Roemer was anxious to record as soon as she arrived. One of the many musicians she met was bassist Alex Claffy, whose enthusiasm for collaboration motivated Roemer to push through the production of House of Mirrors. Roemer set up recording dates and they brought on pianist Addison Frei and drummer Adam Arruda.