SSC4618 2017-03-10

Track List

1. Caipi
2. Kama
3. Casio Vanguard
4. Summer Song
5. Chromatic B
6. Hold On
7. Ezra
8. Little Dream
9. Casio Escher
10. Interscape
11. Little B


Kurt Rosenwinkel - acoustic & electric guitar, electric bass, piano, drums, percussion, synth, casio and voice
Pedro Martins - voice, drums, keyboards, percussion
Frederika Krier - violin
Andi Haberl - drums
Antonio Loureiro - voice
Alex Kozmidi - baritone guitar
Kyra Garéy - voice
Mark Turner - tenor saxophone
Eric Clapton - guitar
Zola Mennenöh - voice
Amanda Brecker - voice
Chris Komer - French horn

Guitarist Kurt Rosenwinkel, a multiple DownBeat Critics and Readers Poll contender, signals a new musical direction with the March 10 release of Caipi, the long-awaited debut album on his new label, Heartcore Records.

Ten years in the making, Caipi features Kurt Rosenwinkel playing all the instruments (drums, bass, piano, synthesizers and percussion) and showcases his vocals on a bevy of deeply personal tunes, such as the ballad “Ezra,” named for his youngest son, and “Little B,” a tribute to his elder son, Silas, who was nicknamed Little Bear as a toddler. Nine other original compositions round out this 11-track program.

On Caipi—the title takes its name from a Brazilian cocktail similar to a mojito—elements of rock and jazz co-exist with all the recognizable features of Rosenwinkel’s lucid modern-jazz style. Brazilian music features prominently as well, to some extent symbolizing Rosenwinkel’s natural inclination toward melodies that are instantly accessible yet emotionally impactful.