SSC1299 2012-07-31

Track List

Talita - 6:24
La Muerte de Rocamadour - 7:31
Gekrepten - 7:10
Buenos Aires - 7:04
Morellina - 5:55
Oliveira - 7:07
Berthe Trépat - 3:39
Traveler - 4:53
La Maga - 7:36
El Club de la Serpiente - 10:11


Miguel Zenon - alto saxophone
Laurent Coq - piano
Dana Leong - cello, trombone
Dan Weiss - drums, tabla, percussion

The music on this recording was inspired by the book Rayuela, by the Argentine writer Julio Cortázar. This masterpiece has long provided me with an immense amount of inspiration and ideas, forging a possibility for what art could be: a medium of boundless freedom, both for the creator and for the audience. The narrative in Rayuela takes place both in Paris and Buenos Aires, and it was indeed this ""French-Latin American"" connection that ignited the idea for a collaboration between Laurent and myself. We have become close friends through the years but had never had the chance to collaborate on a musical project before (aside from the casual performance here and there). Working on Rayuela seemed like the perfect opportunity. Each composition is meant to represent a character or episode from the book, and our approaches varied greatly: from direct translations of words (or in some cases letters) into musical terms; to impressions on the feelings inspired by a specic literary passage. What is meant to be consistent throughout the music is our love and admiration for every page of this very unique piece of literature and our desire for this music to transmit these feelings in an honest way.
Here's to hoping you'll enjoy the music as much as we enjoyed making it...FOR YOU.""
—Miguel Zenón