SSC1128 2004-01-01

Track List

Black Nile - 6:45
Alycia - 6:14
The Impaler - 5:42
Rainbow - 5:16
Kasploosh - 4:49
You And The Night And The Music - 5:32
Dance Of The Niblets - 7:31
Opal Rose - 6:32
Blooski - 3:45


Charles Fambrough - bass
Kenny Kirkland - piano
Jeff "Tain" Watts - drums

The trio of Jeff Watts, Kenny Kirkland and Charles Fambrough first united as the rhythm section of that first great Wynton Marsalis Quintet and played together for more than two years in the group that set jazz on its ears with its further exploration of the musical concepts that were born of the Miles Davis Quintet with Wayne Shorter, Herbie Hancock, Ron Carter and Tony Williams. Following the (overly) well-publicized rift that resulted in the disbanding of the Marsalis quintet when Kirkland left with Branford to tour with Sting, Tain was reunited with the pianist in Branford’s new band and the two remained almost constant rhythm section mates for the duration of his life. It was Fambrough, who had previously left Wynton’s band to lead his own groups, that organized this date to feature on its own the unit that had propelled Marsalis to stardom.

Chris Druckker created the original art for the cover and that's another long story.


"Here the story is telling. The rainbows do come - before and after the rain. Split-second time stands still in the interlocking passions of three musical spirits."
Todd Barkan / Keystone Korner