SSC1595 2020-10-02

Track List

Doctor of Tone - 1:28
Midnight Silence - 8:38
Blasphemy - 6:49
Steepian Faith - 7:20
Dienda I - 4:21
Dienda II - 6:29
Mr. J.C. - 6:52
The Tonality of Atonement - 8:32
Chambers of Tain - 7:31
Fuchsia - 8:04
Chance - 7:17


Noah Haidu - piano , keyboards
Billy Hart - drums
Todd Coolman - bass
Steve Wilson - alto and soprano saxophone
Gary Thomas - tenor saxophone
Jon Irabagon - tenor & soprano saxophone
Dan Sadownick - percussion

Pianist Noah Haidu has etched out an uncompromising identity as a pianist and composer by balancing cutting edge songwriting with stirring improvisations. On his new Sunnyside release Doctone, Haidu reaches a new level of self-expression while exploring the work of one of his major influences, the late Kenny Kirkland. As Noah writes in the liner notes: “Doctone is the first recording dedicated entirely to Kirkland’s original music. I view Kenny as the most unique composer and pianist of his generation. Because he died young and avoided the spotlight, his brilliant compositions have been overlooked for too long.”