Luis Bacalov

Born in Buenos Aires, Argentina, on August 30,1933. He began his music studies at the age of five. At a very young age he began his concert activity in Argentina as soloist, in a duet with violinist Alberto Lisi and in various chamber music groups.

He continued his activity in Spain and attended specialization courses in Paris, where he worked as a pianist in a night-club.

In Italy, from 1959 he composed music for cinema and television, but during the eighties this becomes less frequent so that he could dedicate more of himself to the composition of theatre and concert music, as well as his activity as a pianist.

Recently he has created a Quartet composed of bandoneón, contrabass, percussions, and piano.

He collaborated with world-famous film directors by composing many soundtracks, among them we mention: “The gospel according to St. Matthew” (1965) by Pier Paolo Pasolini, for which he obtained an Oscar® nomination from the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Science; “Questa volta parliamo di uomini” (1965) by Lina Wertmuller; “We still kill the old way” (1967) by Elio Petri; “Protagonists” (1968) by Marcello Fondato; “Texas” (1969) by Tonino Valerii; “The red rose” (1973) and “La giacca verde” (1980) by Franco Giraldi; “The roses of Danzig” (1979) by Alberto Bevilacqua; “City of women” (1980) by Federico Fellini; “Deceptions” (1985) by Luigi Faccini; “A simple story” (1991) by Emidio Greco; “Laura: the rebel years” (1994) by Rosaria Polizzi. He received, for the music he composed for the film “The Postman” (1994) by Michael Radford, the 1995 Oscar® and the 1995 Bafta® awards for Best Original Score. He was the recipient of the 1996 “Premio Rota®” Award, dedicated to lifetime achievement in soundtrack composing. Among his recent scores are: “Ilona arrives with the rain” (1996) by Sergio Cabrera, “The Borderland” (1996) by Franco Giraldi, “The Truce” (1997) by Francesco Rosi, “Milonga” (1999) by Emidio Greco, “Panni sporchi” (1999) by Mario Monicelli, “Il cielo cade” (2000) by Andrea and Antonio Frazzi and "Il Consiglio d'Egitto" (2001) by Emidio Greco.

Artist News